Team Suzuki Press Office – February 18.

Yoshimura Suzuki Factory Racing’s James Stewart turned in a stellar ride and took the win in his heat race at round seven of the AMA/ FIM World Supercross Championships in Arlington, Texas on Saturday night. But as the Yoshimura Suzuki rider was poised to fight for the win in the 450 class Main Event he suffered another bout of bad luck.

After turning the most blisteringly-hot laps in the first practice session and qualifying second fastest for the day, Stewart got a great start in the heat race. He slotted into second place and stalked the leader, making a smooth pass at the half-way point of the eight-lap race to take the win. But, in between the heat race and the Main Event - although no changes had been made to the RM-Z - the bike experienced a mystery clutch issue and Stewart was unable to start.

“The day went pretty good and we had some good practice times,” said an upbeat and optimistic Stewart. “The heat race was awesome. I got a good start on the Yoshimura Suzuki RM-Z450. We changed some stuff up during the week and it was great. And I was feeling confident and really great – I hadn’t felt that great since I was 16. I was sitting at the gate, ready to go and we had something happen with the clutch. I tried to see what we could do to fix it but it was internal. But health wise, I feel really great and now we’ll go to The Atlanta and get it done.”

Yoshimura Suzuki Factory Racing’s next event is the eighth round of the 2013 AMA/ FIM World Supercross Championships on Saturday February 23rd at the Georgia Dome in Atlanta, Georgia.


To watch the Yoshimura Suzuki Arlington “Behind The Scenes Race Report” Video: CLICK HERE FOR VIDEO

Embed Code: <iframe width="1280" height="720" src="" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Dallas 450 Supercross Results: 1. Ryan Villopoto (Kawasaki), 2. Davi Millsaps (Rockstar Energy Suzuki), 3. Ryan Dungey (KTM), 4. Chad Reed (Honda), 5. Justin Brayton (Yamaha), 6. Justin Barcia (Honda), 7. Trey Canard (Honda), 8. Matt Goerke (KTM), 9. Andrew Short (Honda),10. Broc Tickle (RCH Suzuki).

2013 450 Supercross Standings: SUPERCROSS POINTS

Follow Team Suzuki Racing
Powered by Midlands Performance© Suzuki Motor Corporation 2004-2022