Team Suzuki Press Office – February 25.

Yoshimura Suzuki Factory Racing’s James Stewart dominated the eighth round of the AMA/ FIM World Supercross Championship at Georgia Dome in Atlanta on Saturday night in front of a packed house of 70,000 fans.

Stewart trounced the competition in qualifying, in his heat race and the 450 class Main Event and became one of just three racers who have gone nine straight seasons with a win in Atlanta.

His day in Atlanta started strong, posting the fastest qualifying times during the day’s practice and then he grabbed the Holeshot in his eight-lap heat race and led all laps to take the win. Similarly, in the Main Event, Stewart took the Holeshot and rode flawlessly to lead all 20 laps to the chequered flag to notch-up his 45th career premier class win.

Said Stewart: “What can I say, we won. This whole season has been kind of crazy, but it was basically a perfect day. I was fastest in qualifying, I holeshot the heat race, I holeshot the Main Event and I led every lap I was on. I’m not going to lie, I was a little nervous because I haven’t been out there in a while, but I felt good and I was just trying to stay in my head and focus. I have to give it up to the Yoshimura Suzuki team; they’ve been working so hard and they’ve stood by me in this up-and-down year. Now I’m looking forward to building on this momentum and heading to St. Louis.”

Yoshimura Suzuki Factory Racing’s next event is the ninth round of the 2013 AMA/ FIM World Supercross Championship on Saturday, March 2nd at the Edward Jones Dome in St. Louis.

Atlanta Image Gallery: CLICK HERE FOR PHOTOS

To watch the Yoshimura Suzuki “Behind The Scenes Race Report” from Atlanta: CLICK HERE FOR VIDEO

Embed Code: <iframe width="1280" height="720" src="" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Atlanta 450 Supercross Results (after 8 of 17 rounds): 1. James Stewart (Yoshimura Suzuki), 2. Ryan Villopoto (Kawasaki), 3. Davi Millsaps (Rockstar Energy Suzuki), 4. Justin Barcia (Honda), 5. Trey Canard (Honda), 6. Ryan Dungey (KTM), 7. Eli Tomac (Honda), 8. Jake Weimer (Kawasaki), 9. Chad Reed (Honda), 10. Mike Alessi (Suzuki).

450 Supercross Standings: CLICK HERE

Follow Team Suzuki Racing
Powered by Midlands Performance© Suzuki Motor Corporation 2004-2022