MX Special Edition

TEAM SUZUKI RACING news 04 2017 MX Special Edition Under his guidance, Stefan Everts won the first of his 10 world titles, as the legendary Belgian took home the 125cc crown in 1991. Dutch rider Pedro Tragter won the same 125cc class a couple of years later in 1993, holding-off fellow Suzuki rider Yves Demaria for the title. The following year, South African Greg Albertyn won the main 250cc class, and then there were three consecutive runners-up positions for Belgian Marnicq Bervoets (1995-1997). Italian rider Alessandro Puzar also managed a third place in the 125cc class in 1989, under the management of Michele Rinaldi, as Suzuki cemented itself as a major force in world motocross. When the second millennium rolled around, the baton was picked-up by French rider Mickael Pichon who finished second in the year 2000 before winning two 250cc championships in a row. As the two-stroke era came to an end, Pichon gained himself another championship podium, finishing third in 2003. With new bikes came a new generation of yellow riders, as Kevin Strijbos and Steve Ramon “The driving force behind this success was Sylvain Geboers, who followed on from his three 250cc championship podiums by taking over the running of the Suzuki Factory Team in 1988” Ken Roczen showed his prodigious talent in the 2010 season, finishing runner-up in the MX2 class aged just 16 years old. One of the standout performers for Suzuki in recent years was perennial title challenger Clement Desalle. He got on the championship podium four years in a row from 2010 to 2013.