MX Special Edition

TEAM SUZUKI RACING news 03 2017 MX Special Edition T hroughout history, the Suzuki awning has always been filled with the best talent from around the world. From Belgian rider Joel Robert’s first world title in 1970, right the way through to Australian youngster Hunter Lawrence’s victory at the last MX2 in 2017, Suzukis have been a regular feature of the world motocross championship podiums and a strong threat for titles almost every year. With championships won by riders coming from Belgium, France, Italy, the Netherlands, America, South Africa and even their home country of Japan with Akira Watanabe in 1978 (the only manufacturer to do so), the Suzuki brand has been associated with success around the globe. Especially so in Belgium which almost became a second home for the company as riders and team managers from the small European nation won title after title. Robert started it off, but he was quickly succeeded by Roger De Coster, Gaston Rahier, Georges Jobe, Harry Everts and Eric Geboers, who all won world titles in the 125, 250 or 500cc divisions. A few years later, the driving force behind this success was Sylvain Geboers, who followed on from his three 250cc championship podiums in 1970-1972 by taking over the running of the Suzuki Factory Team in 1988. From this moment on, Suzuki enjoyed a renaissance, winning titles in the both 125cc and 250cc classes and the relationship was further strengthened when the Geboers Racing Promotion company was setup in 1992. “When the second millennium rolled around, the baton was picked-up by French rider Mickael Pichon who finished second in the year 2000 before winning two 250cc championships in a row” Mikael Pichon helped Suzuki start the new millennium in style, finishing runner-up in 2000, before winning two consecutive 250cc world titles. In dramatic circumstances, Steven Ramon brought home the 2007 MX1 World Championship for Suzuki.