Team Suzuki Press Office – August 12.

Motul Pirelli Suzuki’s Matt Moss has extended his Australian Motocross Championship lead following double moto wins at the Swan Hill eighth round of the MX Nationals on Sunday.

Moss was in unbeatable form aboard the RM-Z450 in the championship’s first visit to the regional Victorian venue, claiming Superpole in qualifying before going on to a pair of dominant race victories in the two 30-minute motos.

The result sees Moss stretch his series lead to 11 points with just two rounds remaining, however the multiple national Lites champion will remain focused on the task at hand over the coming rounds.

"It's good to battle with Todd Waters and I know it's going to go down to the wire,” said Moss. “I'm really looking forward to that. I really have to thank Motul Pirelli Suzuki, Jay Foreman, Jess and even Cody Cooper's mechanic Nathan. We've worked hard and I'm really happy with the progress we've been making."

Moss’ overall victory at Swan Hill marked his third of the season and the team’s fourth in 2013.

Two-time defending New Zealand Motocross Champion Cooper finished seventh overall at Swan Hill. He was a promising third in the Superpole session, but 10th and eighth place finishes in the motos made for a frustrating weekend.

Said Cooper: “Seventh definitely wasn’t the result we were capable of today, but we will keep working and look to finish off the season on a positive note at Toowoomba and Coolum. The top three in the championship is still possible at this stage.”

Cooper currently sits fourth in the standings, 32 points in arrears of third overall.

Team manager Jay Foreman was again proud of Moss’ efforts at Swan Hill, watching the 25-year-old MX1 class returnee go from strength to strength this season.

“Matt has been exceptional all year and we couldn’t ask for more from him,” said Foreman. “We know the way he works and the RM-Z450 has been flawless, so we plan to remain focused on the job at hand and keep pushing through these final rounds. Today was a real highlight for Matt in a perfect performance.”

The MX Nationals, Australian Motocross Championship, will continue with the penultimate round at Toowoomba in Queensland on August 25th.

2013 Monster Energy MX Nationals, Round Eight – Swan Hill, QLD:

MX1 Overall Results:

1. Matt Moss (Motul Pirelli Suzuki) 75
2. Todd Waters 66
3. Kirk Gibbs 64
4. Billy Mackenzie 56
5. Gareth Swanepoel 51
6. Jay Marmont 47
7. Cody Cooper (Motul Pirelli Suzuki) 47
8. Cheyne Boyd 46
9. Jake Moss (Campbell Mining Suzuki) 45
10. Sam Martin (DPH Motorsport) 45

MX1 Championship Standings (after eight of 10 rounds):

1. Matt Moss (Motul Pirelli Suzuki) 511
2. Todd Waters 500
3. Billy Mackenzie 461
4. Cody Cooper (Motul Pirelli Suzuki) 429
5. Lawson Bopping 407
6. Kirk Gibbs 407
7. Jake Moss (Campbell Mining Suzuki) 388
8. Jay Marmont 333
9. Adam Monea 323
10. Tye Simmonds 273

Follow Team Suzuki Racing
Powered by Midlands Performance© Suzuki Motor Corporation 2004-2022